DNA And African Ancestry Test Results

 DNA And African Ancestry Test Results

  By Chance Kelsey, chancellorfiles.com

Chance: In 2006 PBS did a show called “African American lives” Henry Louis Gates jr. was the host, Gates chose 9 famous African American (black Americans) people to do DNA testing on. Gates wanted to see what were these people genetically mixed with. The show had some nice surprises, and verified that many so called black Americans are mixed to various degrees. Some are mixed very little an other are mixed a lot. All of the participants had African ancestry, but at the same time some had a lot of European ancestry in them.

This raises the question, should Americans continue to follow the one drop blood rule that says if you have one drop of black blood in you then you are therefore black? Another name for the one drop blood rule is ODR (one drop rule), many Black Americans continue to follow and demand that the ODR remain in effect. Now at the same time there are a small number of people who are labeled black but are so mixed that their physical appearance (phenotypes) don’t fit into the black race. These people have skin tones that are yellowish, reddish yellow, beige, whitish, and have various eyes colors, hair textures ranging from general black American type hair which is the same as black Africans to hair that is a combination of black and white mixture to strait hair like whites and other non black ethnic groups.

As long as black Americans continue to follow the ODR, and have these types of mixed race people among them — there will always be jealousy directed at these mix race people at the hands of blacks who are dark skin and caramel skin. Especially dark skin blacks. At the same time some of these mixed race people are white in phenotype (white in appearance to the point where you see no visible black ancestry in their physical bodies) but are labeled black because of ODR. Then you have those who are what is called 50/50 looking, they show in their physical bodies visible signs of black, white and other ancestries, on top of that there are some who are labeled black but look like mestizo latinos or Asian or some other ethnic group. With all of these mixed race looking people being labeled black actually holds then back from progressing, and has opened them up to the same social and racial discrimination that blacks who are dark skin and caramel skin experience in America. Having these mixed race people among blacks benefits blacks, but in many ways hurt the mixed race people because they get mistreated by whites and other non whites and mistreated by blacks for being too mixed looking.

Chance: Henry Louis Gates jr DNA test revealed he was 50% whit and 50% black, Music Producer Quincy Jones’ DNA test revealed he is 34% white and 66% black, Sociologist Sara Lawrence Lightfoot’s DNA test revealed that she was 45% European. All three of these people have Caramel brown skin, yet have a high percentage of of European ancestry all three had European ancestry that was past 30%. Now imagine if we DNA test all of the blacks who have yellow, reddish yellow, reddish, and whitish skin, many of them would have high percentages of European and other non black ancestries. 

I must say too, that some people may be predominately black in ancestry but their phenotype may look more mixed race instead of looking predominately black. The reality is, that DNA and genetic science has opened up a do that allows many people of all ethnic groups to study their genetic past.

"We now know that our ancestors brought something with them that not even the slave trade could take away: their own distinctive strands of DNA. And because their DNA has been passed down to us – their direct descendants – it just might be the key that unlocks our African past." – Henry Louis Gates, head of the Department of African and African American Studies at Harvard University

Mark Shriver, a white population geneticist at Penn State, talked about how surprised he had been by his own test – which had come back 86% European, 11% sub-Saharan African, and 3% Native American – and how his mother wanted him to stop publicizing these results. Then to test for specific African ancestry, two more tests were done: a mitochondrial DNA test that traces the matrilineal line (mother to grandmother to great-grandmother, and so forth). The Y chromosome test is only done on males – women must get a male relative to do it – and traces the patrilineal line. The conclusions for some of the more famous case studies:

Oprah Winfrey: The billionaire talk show host said that she didn’t believe that she had any European or Native American ancestors. Her admixture test showed her ancestry to be 89% sub-Saharan African, 8% Native American, 3% East Asian (researchers said that Native American ancestral traces show up here too), and 0% European. Henry Louis Gates told Oprah that, no, her other test results didn’t show Zulu ancestry, as she has claimed (and she had to take a breather). She descends from the Kpelle people (who cluster in the Guinea Highlands of what is now central Liberia and Guinea), the Bamileke people (who cluster in modern-day Cameroon), and a Bantu tribe in Zambia. I hope Oprah travels there, and does a show about these findings. Let us not forget that in the previous installment, Ms. Winfrey – born to unwed parents in rural Mississippi – discovered that an ancestor owned land after the Civil War, and had a school for black children on it (and she broke into tears upon hearing the news).

  

Quincy Jones: Mr. Jones’ admixture test showed his ancestry to be 66% sub-Saharan African, 34% European, and 0% Native American. Given family stories, the music producer was surprised that he had no Native American ancestors, and shocked at the high percentage of European ancestry (the average for black Americans is 20%). His Y chromosome test – which traces the patrilineal line – showed only European lineage and no African match (not unusual as apparently 3 out of 10 Y chromosome tests for black Americans reveal European ancestry). His mitochondrial test – which traces the matrilineal line – connected him to the Tikar tribe, who cluster in present-day Cameroon. And apparently the Tikar people are famous for their music and artistic genius, hence no surprise given Jones’ prowess in the music industry.

T.D. Jakes: The famous minister’s Y chromosome test showed him to be of Igbo descent (clustered in what is now Nigeria). He was the only one of the nine famous people to correctly guess his African ancestry. Jakes is fully black with no other racial mixtures.

 

 

 

Whoopi Goldberg: Her admixture test revealed her ancestry to be 92% sub-Saharan African, 8% European, and 0% Native American (which meant that family stories about having such ancestry were untrue). The comic / actress descends from the Papel and Bayote tribes, who mainly cluster in modern-day Guinea-Bissau. Apparently, these were popular tribes in the slave trade.

 

 


Mae Jemison: The first black female astronaut to go into space (who is light-skinned) had no discernible European ancestry in her admixture test. Out of all the famous guinea pigs, I expected her test to come back with the most mixed ancestry. Not. Her ancestry reveals her to be 84% sub-Saharan African descent, 13% East Asian, and 3% Native American.  Researchers were unable to find a conclusive match for her in terms of a specific African tribe. Researchers explained her high East Asian ancestry (for black Americans) to the fact that Chinese laborers were sent to Mississippi – her family’s ancestral state – in the late 1800s, so apparently one of her great-grandfathers may have been such a laborer. She was surprised to be of Asian descent (I wasn’t…has she looked at her eyes?), although she indicated that people had told her such during her travels to Asia. She figured that it was just traces of Native American ancestry.

 

Chris Tucker: The comic’s admixture test came back 83% sub-Saharan African, 10% Native American, and 7% European. He guessed that he was descended from a tribe in modern-day Ghana. His Y chromosome test was the most intriguing of the group: it linked him to the Mbundu tribe, who inhabit modern-day central Angola. In fact, the DNA link was so strong that researchers said it was within the last eight generations…which is rare (researchers were only able to trace his family tree to the 1830s, and you may recall how one of his fascinating relatives kept selling plots of land to keep it in black hands during the Jim Crow Era). Apparently 1 in 4 U.S. slaves came from what is now the Congo-Angola region. Mr. Gates accompanied Mr. Tucker on a trip to Angola, where they visited a village in the region where the Mbundu people cluster (and folks were very excited to see him, did a homecoming celebration for him, and a village elder / griot talked about how they had heard stories about people disappearing during the slave trade).

 

 

  

Sara Lawrence Lightfoot’s (Sociologist)  DNA test revealed that she was 45% European.

Sarah Lawrence-Lightfoot, a sociologist and professor of education at Harvard University, has written eight books, which include: Worlds Apart: Relationships Between Families and Schools (1978); Beyond Bias: Perspectives on Classrooms (1979); and The Good High School: Portraits of Character and Culture (1983), which received the 1984 Outstanding Book Award from the American Educational Research Association.

 

 

Henry Louis Gates: The head of Harvard University’s African And African-American Studies department had an interesting family history. Researchers traced his family tree back to the American Revolution (where a relative fought). His admixture test revealed his ancestry to be 50% sub-Saharan African, 50% European, and 0% Native American.  Like Quincy Jones, his Y chromosome test revealed only European ancestry (in common with British and Dutch males). His mitochondrial DNA test also revealed European ancestry (in common with French and Irish) – and it is very rare for black Americans to reveal European blood on the woman’s (mitochondrial) side, so there is definitely a creepin’ story there – with weak traces of ancestry from modern-day Egypt. No sub-Saharan ancestry. To help trace his sub-Saharan African ancestry, researchers took his 50% DNA strand that was African and compared it to African individuals. The result came closest (but not definitely) to the Mende people, who cluster mostly in modern-day Sierra Leone, as well as Liberia. 

A DNA test also showed that Heny Louis Gates jr’s father is 67%  white

 


  1. I don’t know. How many people would be upset at finding out that they have a high percentage of Euro blood? Part of me feels like, since I know that may be the case, just don’t tell me. Just tell me about the Black blood. I like simply saying that I’m black anyway. In the words of Alex Haley’s Queen “You my people.”

    As long as you don’t look Black, I don’t think White people really care about the percentages, unless they need to make some racist justification I suppose.

  2. Chance

    @ Trenee,

    As long as you don’t look Black, I don’t think White people really care about the percentages, unless they need to make some racist justification I suppose.

    In general that is true Trenee, as long as you don’t look black whites will not care. It is so funny though the one drop blood was created because of the octoroon and quadroon looking blacks. Whites wanted to purify their race of these people who could pass for white. Now whites in this day and time accept these types of people, interesting.

  3. kiki

    What about African=Americans who are phenotypically Black but whose genotype is more than 30% european? We have an excellent role model (if you can call it that) to reclassify ourselves, South African apartheid. Is this what we want? What about the tribes in Africa that are naturally light-skinned without any admixture? What would you classify them as? My grandfather was part Black phenotypically. My mother was very light. My father dark. I am mediumbrown. My son is as light as my mother with blond hair. So,is he or my mother a different race than I?

  4. Chance

    @ Commentor #3,

    Quote by poster 3: What about African=Americans who are phenotypically Black but whose genotype is more than 30% european? We have an excellent role model (if you can call it that) to reclassify ourselves, South African apartheid. Is this what we want? What about the tribes in Africa that are naturally light-skinned without any admixture? What would you classify them as? My grandfather was part Black phenotypically. My mother was very light. My father dark. I am mediumbrown. My son is as light as my mother with blond hair. So,is he or my mother a different race than I?

    My response: How did your family end up so mixed race? It was the result of the ODR that sent many mixed race people into the black race. Now that the government no longer require the ODR (one drop rule) a person has the right to remain black if they want to. Now others should have the right to claim mixed race. Many whites have black in them some whites are 80% white and 20% black. How come they are not labeled black. Also some black are 30% white but yet have black phenotypes.
    That simply means they don’t have enough white ancestry inside of them and that’s they are more black that why they have black phenotypes.

  5. Marie

    Welp…i guess these findings support the one drop rule. All is takes is a little “black blood” for a person to “look black” Skip Gates is 50/50 but he looks like he doesnt looked mixed at all!!
    It really comes down to this: White people didnt make their debut to the world stage until 20,000 to 50,000 years ago. Studies suggest that in the next 250 years, there will be no more natural blonde people. This European, has definitely lest his mark on the planet but as people become extinct, he will probably be the first one to go.
    African genes are like roux cooking on the skilett too long. If it simmers just one nano-second too long, your whole pot of gumbo will taste burnt.
    So to the original people of the plantet, remember your worth and influence to the human family…”you can wite me down in history with your bitter twisted lies, you may trod me in the very dirt, but still like dust i rise”
    Marie

  6. Chance

    @ Marie

    Skip Gates does look like he is mixed to some degree. His father is very white in appearance and is four times lighter then Skip Gates (Henry Gates jr.). Also in Africa among blacks many of them would declare him mixed. Black Americans re just use to seeing mixed people labeled (mis labeled black) that is all. I do agree that whites will be one of the first major racial groups to disappear from the face of this earth. Also the genes that determine your skin color are very few. A person can look predominantly black on the inside and be genetically more white inside of themselves (genes), and a person can look totally white and on the inside their genes are predominantly black. What about El Debarge, Terrence Howard, Vanessa Williams, they are mixed race and look mixed.

  7. p.s. Marie

    Re: http://www.PrettyYellow.blogspot.com

    and ESPECIALLY the comments on some of the articles that follow…

  8. Reegs

    I wasn’t that suprised that they had white ancestry in them. I mean if you consider how many slave women were raped by their masters, this is totally expected. My light skinned African-American mother tells me all the time how we have Indian (I think she means Native American) in our ancestry. I bet she has European ancestry also. My dark-skinned father is from Haiti, and that country was ruled by white French colonists for a long period of time. (I am dark-skinned) This has made me very curious to get a relatively concrete answer to my ancestry. I wish to get this kind of DNA testing some time in my life.

  9. oneworld

    Chance ,

    Skin complexion, in particularly, lightness or darkness is in no way an accurate measure of one’s degree of blackness/whiteness. The researchers who conducted the study you mentioned above, noted that the degree of white-European admixture in one’s bloodlines is many times not evident in that person’s phenotype. Not all genes are expressed to the same degree in every person. Like Marie mentioned look at Henry Louis Gates Jr., Barack Obama, and Quincy looks more Native than anything…just to name a few.

    Also, the technology used to produce these results for which many of you are placing monumental value upon is preliminary at best.
    Out of the many DNA “markers” that depict race, only a few of them have been identified and are of use in the lab. However, these tests are rapidly improving as the number of people willing to submit samples to these DNA databases increases!

    P.S. My mom is a very dark skinned MGM-mixed, my brother is as dark as Mom with curly hair,I’m closer to a medium-brown/caramel complexion, but my sister is what people would call “high yellow”. We all come from the same brood; not one of is any more black/white/indian than the other.

  10. Who's Who

    I am told my fathers’ paternal grandmother was white. Do I now have to ask; how white was she?

    I am told that my mothers’ maternal grandmother born of a slave woman and a slave owner.

    When the subject of heritage comes up in conversation I always point out the obvious. That is that I know I don’t look like my ancestors who came over on slave ships. However, I have never been mistaken for a white person. Yes, you could look at me and know that I have mixed ancestry, but I am unmistakably a black man. This is the ethnic designation and who I identify with.

    No racist has ever asked me what percent African blood I have. They aren’t confused, so I don’t think I should be either and I hope I make my great grandparents proud.

  11. Who's Who

    I am told my fathers’ paternal grandmother was white. Do I now have to ask; how white was she?

    I am told that my mothers’ maternal grandmother born of a slave woman and a slave owner.

    When the subject of heritage comes up in conversation I always point out the obvious. That is that I know I don’t look like my ancestors who came over on slave ships. However, I have never been mistaken for a white person. Yes, you could look at me and know that I have mixed ancestry, but I am unmistakably a black man. This is the ethnic designation and who I identify with.

    No racist has ever asked me what percent African blood I have. They aren’t confused, so I don’t think I should be either and I hope I make my great grandparents proud.

  12. Chance

    @ Who’s Who,

    Who’s Who Wrote:
    Sunday, February 17, 2008 at 2:33 pm –

    When the subject of heritage comes up in conversation I always point out the obvious. That is that I know I don’t look like my ancestors who came over on slave ships. However, I have never been mistaken for a white person. Yes, you could look at me and know that I have mixed ancestry, but I am unmistakably a black man. This is the ethnic designation and who I identify with.


    My response:
    This is why I say that people have a right to self identify how they please even if they are mixed race. If they feel more at home self identifying as black — they have a right to do that.

    If a person feels more at home self identifying as mixed race, white, asian, latino, etc they should have that right to do that.

  13. Hello webmaster, I was browsing Internet searching for celebrities with blonde hair and your blog regarding DNA And African Ancestry Test Results came my way. Very interesting! You really do know your thing! I\’m gonna bookmark you and come back in a few to see your new posting! Looking forward to! Cheers!

  14. Chance

    Your welcome, and glad you like the site.

  15. Candace

    Wow, when did Mae Jemison become “light-skinned”?? I’m assuming you’re not Black, as many of your comments come off as incredibly clouded, ignorant, and rooted in Eurocentric racist doctrine. Mae Jemison is a brown/brown-skinned woman. If she’s “light-skinned” to you, then what is Langston Hughes? Harold Ford?? Black people come in all shapes and colors…we have more genetic variation than anyone on the planet, whether we’re from the continent or from the colonial Diaspora. Whites have no genetic variation whatsoever.

    And guess what?? I’m mostly of Native American, East Asian, and European ancestry (I took the test AND I know my family tree). My husband is Ba’saa from Cameroon. Guess what? He’s “lighter” than I am. GO FIGURE.

    Keep your Eurocentric ideology to yourself. Please and thanks.

  16. To: the author of this article:

    African Americans DON’T Abide by the One Drop Rule. White American Racists made up & abide by the One Drop Rule during slavery to seperate themselves from any people of color, including people of African and Native american ancestory. MOST People Would Have No Problem with the One Drop Rule….If It Applied To Being White. That’s what happens in Latin America. Obvious AFRO-Latinos are taught to call themselves White or Native American because they have been Conditioned by European colonizers to Believe that something is wrong with them being Black. African Americans simply have the common sense enough to be proud of our families African Ancestory, no matter how european, asian or native american other people think we “look” or how much weare mixed with. EVEN IF A PERSON IS BI-RACIAL (half Black, Half White) YOU GET WAY MORE THAN JUST “ONE DROP” OF AFRICAN ANCESTORY FROM YOUR BLACK PARENT! Let’s Stop Pretending and trying to RATIONALIZE SOME BLACK AMERICANS AS PEOPLE WHO AREN’T REALLY BLACK JUST BECAUSE WE DON’T ALL HAVE EXTREMELY PITCH BLACK SKIN, BROAD NOSES AND WOOLY HAIR. ALL AFRICAN AMERICANS ARE MIXED…..Especially mixed with the Blood of the Europeans who RAPED the Women in their family during the days of slavery. Just So the Author of this Article Understands….AFRICAN AMERICANS THAT ARE LESS MIXED ARE CERTAINLY NOT JEALOUS OF AFRICAN AMERICANS WHO APPEAR TO BE MORE MIXED! That is the Biased, Confused Theory of a person who has been CONDITIONED to Believe that People of predominant African Ancestory, Some how Have a Reason to Be Jealous of Black People who favor people of other races…..NOT! Genetics Play the Biggest Part in why African Americans can have 2 Dark Skinned, Obviously African Looking Parents…..put turn out to have Light Skin, Blue Eyes and Straight hair! It DOESN’T MEAN THAT THEY ARE NOT BLACK! This just means that the Genetics From their Great, Great, White Grandfather who Raped their Great, Great Grandmother during slavery has genetics that show in the African Americans of today. It also means that the Native American Genetcis that several Black Americans posses from generations ago can still be seen in the Black Americans of 2010. Some Native Americans (from “the 5 civilized tribes”) actually enslaved African Americans as well so the Native American ancestory that a Black American might posses from one of these 5 tribes may have come from rape also. I am a light skinned African American woman with curly hair and green eyes. My Biological Sister (from both my parents) is Brown skinned, wooly hair and brown eyes that look Asian……Our Mom is Dark Skinned and looks almost completely African….Our Dad is Brown Skinned and has a cross between Wooly and Wavey hair, along with strong, Obvious African Features….I AM A BLACK WOMAN WHO’S GENETICS WERE JUST DISPLAYED A LITTLE DIFFERENTLY THAN MY SISTERS OR PARENTS…..DOES THAT MEAN THAT I’M NOT BLACK? I Don’t Thik So! Why the Hell Do I need to try to PASS for Something other than Black? The entire World unfairly judges Black People by the rules of a RACIAL HEIRARCHY that was historically created by Europeans who had an undeserved sense of superiority. This heirarchy puts Europeans (or those who favor europeans) at the top, People of Color who are NOT Black (or those who favor non-black people of color) in the Middle and Black Africans (or people who favor black people) ON THE BOTTOM. Black people are taught that it is better to be Anything than Black and that we should associate more with whatever other racial Genetics that we are mixed with. This has got to stop. It’s just fine to Identify how ever a person likes…BUT if a person identifies a certain way Only to Escape what they know they are….It’s a Problem that needs to be addressed with in a Counseling session. I won’t spend my life defining myself by what this society tells me is superior.

  17. Gale Torregrossa

    This is in response to the statement about Henry Louis Gates; His mitochondrial DNA test also revealed European ancestry (in common with French and Irish) – and it is very rare for black Americans to reveal European blood on the woman’s (mitochondrial) side, so there is definitely a creepin’ story there.

    I am a dark-skinned black American woman and my (mitochondrial) side is Haplogroup H (European) and my mother was dark-skinned, also. My mtDNA results are: Finnish (Nothern Finland), Russian (Siberia) and Yoruba (West Africa). Slanted eyes seem to be dominant and obvious in my grandchildren and me. I had further testing done and my results are a specific subclade of Haplogroup H which is H10, which is a small and uncommon group in Europe, there is need for further research. Also, there were indications of Ashkenazi Jews, but not directly from my mother, rather in my autosomal DNA. I know that my paternal great-grandfather was Dutch. Also, Haplogroup H10 is common to the Ashkenazi Jews in Chuvash, Russia (Khazars) and Germany. They are sometimes referred to as “Turks”. In Northern Finland, some members of the indigenous Saami people are admixtures and their mtDNA will be Haplogroup H. Haplogroup H10 has admixture with significant contributions of Mongolian DNA and European admixtures.

  18. Kimberly

    Interesting discussion. I recently found out that my paternal grandmother’s family were descendents of “free blackmen”. My ancestors on this side were listed as mulatto on a few census records and white on others apparently at the whim of the interviewer. The information that I have found indicates they were descendents of indentured white female servants and black male indentured servants or slaves around the late 1700’s. At that time the children were given the status of the mother so they were not automatically bound as slaves. These families were poor and tended to intermarry with other families of similar racial makeup. It was also claimed that they had intermarried with certain native american tribes making them tri-racial I guess. They eventually migrated west away from the south as the racial climate changed and they were at risk for being captured into the slave trade according to the “one drop rule”. . My great great great grandparents were illiterate and struggled. My grandmother was always told they had “indian” blood and she had no idea. If you look at my skin color, you would not guess this heritage at all. Although my grandmother has light olive skin, she has blue eyes. I have very pale white skin. It gives me a lot of food for thought…..I know that my ancestors struggled and were not accepted by the native american tribes or white people at that time. I wonder how many darker skinned people would not accept them as black either. It seems a lot of american’s are more tri-racial than bi-racial.

  19. Kimberly Glenn

    I did two types of testing. One test was the matrilineal line from ancestry.com and it says my mom side cane from the near east and/or Europe (5,000 years ago). I also did a family finder test with family finder and it says I am 87.4% west african and 13% Jewish/Russian/iranian. I have a weird hair texture and my skin is a mahoganish with a hint of yellow color. What does this entails. Please help me!

  20. A pure Black person is ID Jakes you can tell the feature, hair texture, and the black color with no red or yellow tone. Mae Jemison is a Black woman mix in her background you can tell. Mae is 84% Black no doubt she is a black woman, Mae mixture her 13% Asian blood gave Mae a yellow tone to her light black skin and 3% Native American blood is there. People from African orginally were Black or Dark Brown and when they came to America or Latin America and start mixing there skin and feature and hair start to change. ID Jakes is a true Black man and happy to know there are still pure breed people. I am Mexican and French Creole and I look like Jlo and Beyonce put together so you know I am mix Spanish, Black, Native, and White. DNA is great to me to finally see the pieces to the puzzle of the family tree.

    Regarding Afro-Latino beign brainwashed from the white 50% true but the other 50% is that a African American family is totally different from a Latin person that is black or mix black. Why? Black food vs Latin food, black music vs latin music, Black American speak english vs Afro-Latino speak spanish, Black upbringing is totally different from Latino upbringing. When your Afro-Latin (Cuban, Puerto Rican, Belizeian, Guatamelan, ElSalvador etc…) its different from being Black American.

  21. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add
    to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  22. Tyrone Sanders

    I find it funny that the author said that blacks are jealous of mixed raced people.I think blacks are tired of mixed race people representing them when people who are 50/50 are 1% of African American and tend to always side with the white oppressor. I find it that mixed race people are jealous of blacks because they arent fully accepted in the white world.

  1. 1 Snoop Doggy Dog DNA Test « seedofjapheth

    [...] http://chancellorfiles.wordpress.com/2007/09/11/dna-and-african-ancestry-test-results/ [...]




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

