El Debarge, Kid Rock, And Their Mixed Race Kids

 

 El Debarge, Kid Rock, And Their Mixed Race Kids 

 (The Mixed race and Biracial Kids of celebs) 

By Chance Kelsey, chancellorfiles.com

Singer El Debarge has 10 kids, I saw a photo of El with four of his kids and all 4 were clearly mixed. The singer Kid has a bi racial son the mother is black and Kid rock is white. Now I have noticed, on the Internet at certain blogs and websites that Kid rock’s son is referred to as bi racial (mixed). The boy is definitely mixed. At the Sandra rose blog a debate broke out because some people said Kid rock’s son is so handsome, and mixed. Another commenter said why is it that Kid rock’s son is considered mixed, but Senator Barack Obama is just considered black. The commenter goes on to say could it be because Obama looks more black in appearance. The posters also talked about how is it, that because some bi racials have light skin and good hair they are considered mixed, those biracials who have hair like blacks, and have darker skin are considered just black. I have observed that there is a general truth to what these posters said, and that is, the lighter the skin the more you can get away with saying you are mixed or biracial. From what I have observed, if the skin tone is a yellow color, yellowish red, or whitish it is easier to get people to at least call you mixed. Even if they put the ODR (one drop rule) on you they still will at least call you bi racial, or accept you as an MGM, If you are an MGM who acknowledges that you are mixed.

 

They still will try to apply the ODR if you have visible black ancestry, but at least they acknowledge you are mixed. Halle Berry, Tiger Woods, Rae Dwan Chong, and Lenny Kravitz are immediately ODRed because they show a lot of visible black ancestry. Alicia Keyes is biracial but she  Identifies as black, but even Alica Keyes has more room to say she is mixed than darker mixed race people because Alicia has yellowish skin. Vin Diesel, Wentworth Miller, and Mariah Carey are not ODRed to the same strong degree as darker mixed race people (mulattoes). Mariah Carey acknowledges she is biracial and black at the sametime but her phenotype will always protect her from the full effects of the ODR. Part of the problem is that caramel brown skin and Dark skin mulattoes have phenotypes that are stereotyped as black. Someday mixed race people will have a choice to choose how they want to be labeled with having to worry about other people labeling them black only. This is why I say a third category called mixed race and multiracial is needed. Personally I don’t believe Kid Rock puts the ODR on his son. 

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

http://sandrarosenews.blogspot.com/2007/08/celebrity-seed-el-debarge-kid-rock.html

http://sandrarosenews.blogspot.com/2007/08/celebrity-seed-el-debarge-kid-rock.html


  1. LsGh ;D

    Kid Rock’s son is so cute!

  2. Chance

    [quote comment="25467"]Kid Rock’s son is so cute![/quote]

    He is a nice looking young kid. Man we mixed people often get the best of both worlds.

    LSGH (Light skin good hair) it is good to see you around again man, and I really appreciate your contributions to this website. Your comments are appreciated and your participation.

  3. LsGh

    This is the ONLY “real” site for mixed-race folks. (I’m passing the word…)

    p.s. and yes we DO get the best of both worlds!

  4. Chance

    [quote comment="25478"]This is the ONLY “real” site for mixed-race folks. (I’m passing the word…)

    p.s. and yes we DO get the best of both worlds![/quote]

    Chance: Thanks LSGH, that means a lot to me. Thank you for spreading the word too.

  5. Quietstorm

    I stumbled upon this page by accident, but I must say this was an interesting essay. It is funny how some biracial people are labeled as just Black but I believe that the individual should have the choice to call themselves what they want, and just because a mixed person does not fit into a phenotype that society feels comfortable calling “mixed” i.e skin color/hair type does not mean they can’t call themselves that. For instance, I never understood why alot of Blacks got upset about Tiger Woods self-classification. His DNA is Black/Thai/etc then that is what he is. By the way, El Debarge is also mixed himself(with White and Black) so IF the mother(s) of his children are White (and I don’t think all of them are) then really they could say they are White even though 3 on the picture are darker than me and I’m fully Black. lol

  6. Chance

    @ Quietstorm,

    My response: Yes people should have the right to elf identify themselves how they feel without having to be forced into labeling themselves into some other racial group that society demands they should.

  7. Girl

    Mixed children are so beautiful.

  8. Chance

    @ Girl,

    Mixed children are so beautiful.

    My response: That is so true.

  9. Denise

    All children are beautiful regardless of race. I am sick and tired of people showing off mixed race children like trophies and thinking that they are more beautiful than other children. Remember the doll test. It is our responsibility as adults to make sure that the negative mentality of slavery does not transcend to our youth. And by the way El Debarge is biracial, so thus his children are actually multiracial. That third child on the left appear to have more of a black phenotype and her curls appear tighter than that of the other children; I think that her mother is probably a lighter skinned black or brown skinned black, or Debarge’s black genes took over or it is time to call Maury, lol.anyway, they are cute though.

  10. Chance

    Denise wrote: All children are beautiful regardless of race. I am sick and tired of people showing off mixed race children like trophies and thinking that they are more beautiful than other children. Remember the doll test. It is our responsibility as adults to make sure that the negative mentality of slavery does not transcend to our youth. And by the way El Debarge is biracial, so thus his children are actually multiracial. That third child on the left appear to have more of a black phenotype and her curls appear tighter than that of the other children; I think that her mother is probably a lighter skinned black or brown skinned black, or Debarge’s black genes took over or it is time to call Maury, lol.anyway, they are cute though.

    My response: People from all racial groups show off their children as beautiful, it is not a mixed race thing only. At the same time on average mixed children do look good. You seldom find one that is ugly. The doll test the answers the children gave when they chose the white doll is the result learning from black parents, and society that white is better. Personally when a black person say that a black child is beautiful I don’t get angry, the child is beautiful.

    El Debarge is biracial his father’s name is Robert Debarge Sr El’s mother is black. The third child on the left actually has a mixed race phenotype and he curls being tighter but her texture is similar to whites. Type curls does not matter if your hair texture is similar to whites and she has hair that is similar to whites in texture. She definitively looks mixed. But I understand what you are saying.

    Yes they are a beautiful bunch.

  11. Tina

    It is NOT true that “All children are beautiful.”
    I have seen some UGLY black children.

  12. Lena

    Mixed-race children are more beautiful than other children, especially with the honey colored skin and soft curls.
    Mixed-race children are absolutely gorgeous.

  13. Chance

    @ Tina and Lena,

    Children of ethnicities have ugly and good looking kids among them. I will though that currently it is seldom to find large numbers of ugly mixed race children in America.

  14. Mia Abram

    hi i saw your website and i had to make a comment being mixed race myself (mom’s swedish,dad’s jamaican). I totally agree that these mixed raced kids are adorable. But its not fair to make such generalizations by saying they are any way more attractive or superior than other race of children They are normal people just like black, white or asian kids. Because contrary to popular belief I have seem unattractive mixed kids also. Just because you are of mixed race and have certain hair type or skin tone does not make you beautiful. Iam seeing alot of mix people with a superiority complex. Its one thing to be proud of our heritage. But to believe you are superior is a hole another thing.

  15. Chance

    It is true, that among all people there are beautiful children.

  16. kee

    @ Tina

    UGLY child white, hispanic, asian, or any other race is a matter of opinion. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Your comment seems to imply that Black children have the ugliness department on lock. I would hope that you are not a person of african descent…as that would lead me to question the level of self hatred in your psyche. Otherwise my racial offense meter is in the red zone, and your opinions on beauty are severly warped by society. Needless to say unless you have perfect teeth, complexion, low Body fat, and model body…you have no room to call anyone UGLY.

    Just Kee

  17. Monique

    I’ve seen the mother of those kids (El DeBarges) and she is bi-racial herself (or just a very light skinned black woman)…- she is definently not white. Also, Tracey(another of El’s ex wives)who is black but caramel skinned has two kids for El who appear to be fair skinned and one even has honey colored hair, so you can’t fully jusge kids based on appearance. But no matter who El was with, his kids would always end up being ‘mixed’ becuase he is mixed himself.

  18. Monique

    El Debarges kids mom has a myspace- Monique eBarge (yes, we happen to have the same name)and one of those kids (Bobbi) on the far right has a myspace and lists herself as African American and the other young girl (Jordan) dressed up as snow white and said she was dressed as ‘snow-black’ lol..so I dont know.. Maybe some mixed people prefer just being known as black..

  19. Chance

    That is true some just prefer being known as black. Some Identify as black because that has been the only option they have felt allowed to them.

  20. crissa

    i am a black woman (with a white husband) and i am the mother of 2 beautiful biracial daughters..and it kinda upsets me when people stop us in the grocery store or at the mall and say “oh your kids are beautiful,what are they mixed with?”.or in some cases they say “are they yours” or “mixed kids are the cutest”..my kids are not animals.im tired of people talking about them like they are flowers that i crossed pollinated..my children surprze me with their feautures.they both have sandy blond almost straight hair and are very fair skinned,and my oldest has green eyes(from her father) and my youngest has brown like me.and they are getting to the age where they are noticing the differences..(2 and 3 1/2)… for now when i tell them that they are different because god made them special and unique.

  21. Joseph

    Even back in the slave days here in America white people who observed the mulattoes on plantations said that they were the most beautifully formed race, better looking that both parents from which they sprung. Whether this is true or not, I do not know, but as a Mulatto I have a personal bias to my own race and prefer women of my own race, so yea, I kinda agree with that sentiment that mixed kids [or adults] are the cutest [or best looking]. I dunno about telling kids they are “different”, but explaining to them that they come from parents with different racial backgrounds [maybe similar cultural backgrounds, OR different] will be better. I personally think it’d be good to inform them about the history of mulattoes and what makes it even more cool is that since you’re black [I'm assuming you're of American origin] our history has been intertwined for the longest. :)

  22. Joseph

    “Maybe some mixed people prefer just being known as black..”

    There was a white guy back in the mid-1900’s named White who had black ancestors and thus according to the One Drop Rule he was black. Now even though he was white, he claimed black status [I think he was 1/8th black]. I dunno why [There was a play about the ODR where a white dude had a bi-racial wife and he drank a drop of her blood, I think, and became black - the foolishness of that ODR :) ]. I’ve not read up much on him [White] but apparently he infiltrated the Ku Klux Klan to help derail them.

  23. Chance

    Joseph,

    The man you are talking about maybe Walter White, he was the leader and chairman of the NAACP for many years. He had white skin, blue eyes, and blond hair. He went among the KU KLUX KLAN and gathered information on them.

    Walter White said in his autobiography that he show no visible sings of black ancestry.

  24. Joseph

    Yea, Walter White is the guy I’m talking about. I have not read his book, and I think they have pictures of him up at wikipedia, but I think they are only when he’s old.

  25. crissa

    Lena Wrote:
    Mixed-race children are more beautiful than other children, especially with the honey colored skin and soft curls.
    Mixed-race children are absolutely gorgeous.

    lena..im sorry but you are really sad..its people like you that make me mad..i am the (black)mother of two (black/white)biracial daughters.and its people like you who come up to us in the grocery store and the mall fawning over them like they are godesses..and its really annoying..and to be truthful its getting kinda old..stop being so colorstruck..mixed chidren are no more beautiful than single race children.(although i believe my girls are gorgeous)..and u say “especially with the honey colored skin and soft curls”.honey colored skin?!.my girls dont have a hint of color even if they spend all day in the sun and they have straight hair..sorry to dissapoint you…and let me tell you something else..not all mixed children are “absolutely gorgeous”..i have seen some ugly mixed kids..word of advice..dont put any race on a pedistol.even if it is the “mixed race”

  26. Teri

    I can’t believe this conversation. The sense of superiority is really tragic. I, too, have seen mixed children (I live in a city where there are a lot of interracial couples), and some are pretty, some are not. I agree with Crissa. People need to have a reason to feel superior and their sense of superiority is based on buying in to societal nonsense – brainwashed into believing the lie: the closer to white you are, the more beautiful you will be.

    My friend has a beautiful grandbaby (6 months old) and she has two black parents. It’s all in the genes. Again, some people have the need to feel superior to others. It reminds me of something Redd Foxx said when he was doing a stand up in Las Vegas years ago. The audience (mainly white) were looking at him with such disdain, and he said something to the affect, “You standing there looking high and mighty, but remember, you have to wash your tail just like everyone else.” Well said, Redd.

  27. loalojones

    hello dummy el debarge is biracial his mother is black his farther is white look it up on there backround plus its obvious he looks biracial or spanish so if his wife or wives are mixed two mixed people makes mixed babies now if his wife or wives are just black they could have took his genes and come out looking mixed like him un less the mom looks mixed also but el debarge is biracial

  28. Chance

    loalojones Wrote:
    Saturday, March 22, 2008 at 8:57 pm –
    hello dummy el debarge is biracial his mother is black his farther is white look it up on there backround plus its obvious he looks biracial or spanish so if his wife or wives are mixed two mixed people makes mixed babies now if his wife or wives are just black they could have took his genes and come out looking mixed like him un less the mom looks mixed also but el debarge is biracial

    My response: I already knew he was biracial go read my essay on hos brother Bobby Debarge. Go to search and type up Bobby Debarge and you will see taht i mentioned that the Debarges are biracial.

  29. jones

    All children are beautiful stop this incessant light /dark bullshit.

  30. ahmari35

    Ugly is ugly and beautiful is beautiful. It doesn’t matter what race anyone is, there are ugly people in that race the same as there are beautiful people. I am a black woman and stepmother to two mixed children (3/4 white, 1/4 black) and my husband is white. My stepson has blonde curly hair and my stepdaughter has brown straight hair with darker skin. I personally believe they are some of the most beautiful children on earth, but that’s just me being biased! :D At the same time, I do understand what a poster said earlier about people fawning all over her daughters and treating them like goddesses. Their children, their gorgeous. Their not more gorgeous because they are mixed but just beceause that’s how God made them. When my husband and I have children together, they’ll be beautiful no matter what, whether they have “honey-colored skin and soft curls”, they look like they can glow in the dark and have blonde or red hair, or they are dark as night with kinkier hair than mine. They’ll be beautiful because I’m beautiful, dammit…dark and all.

    Now, I have a question: It seems that biracial or light-skinned people who choose to identify themselves as black feel that they have to become “more black” to prove their “blackness”. For instance, it seems like light-skinned people have to talk “ghetto” or dress in FUBU 24/7 and all this nonsense of what they feel is the definition of black. I take offense to it because I’m dark-skinned, I speak properly because I think speaking in slang and “ebonics” all the time is silly and ignorant. Just because its on BET doesn’t mean that it defines all of as black people. Has anyone paid any attention to this before or am I the only one?

  31. E

    My, my , my I have read some really ignorant comments. What is good hair? Black people have that saying something bad. There are attractive and not so attractive people of all races and racial mixtures (though beauty is in the eye of the beholder). Ask any woman of any race and she will tell you of a bad hair day. Blacks and those with one Black parent need to read the Willie Lynch letters. You will understand those of you who feel you are more attractive because you are lighter where that line of thinking stems from.

  32. Chance

    @ E,

    Good hair is hair that is kept groomed. Yeah people obsess on hair texture too much. Also the Willie Lynch letter is a fake and has been proven to be a fake by scholars. It was written in the 20th century in what scholars believe the early 1990s.

  33. mixedandproud

    I agree with Quietstorm, you can not tell a persons race by outward appearance. Take me I am Black and Cherokee Indian, very proud of both my races. My father is black and mother is Cherokee. My grandfathers are Black and Grandmothers both are Cherokee. Makes me exactly half of each. LOL! I will call myself either one or both if I choose and still be right. People need to get past color. I have yet to see mixture that is not beautiful and there is beauty in every person I have ever seen. There are light and dark shades in every race. We should all just get over ourselves.

  34. LJ2U

    All mix children are not pretty…..all kids are beautiful. Many mix children look like yick what happened to you – I know some personally..shame on the parents. Beautiful isnt defined by light skin, straight or curly hair and a keen nose. Darker the berry, sweeter and prettier the juice

  35. marianne

    I’m white, but have some good looking mixed ethnic nieces and nephews (half Hispanic and half white), as well as the most adorable mixed ethnic grand nieces (one fourth Hispanic, one fourth white and half black) and am really proud of my multi-ethnic family, which also includes some Asians as well as Native Americans and one Middle Easterner. How’s that for a small scale United Nations meeting?

    From a very mixed family and proud of it, too.

  36. el debarge you kissi boty six baby away birttni

  37. tracey

    You’re thinking too hard about it. The terms are interchable. Black people are not dismissing lighter skinned mixed people. Yes they’ll probably get picked on as a kid but it’s just another thing to pick on as kids do ask any kid of any hue.
    Obama gets called mixed black or whatever comes to mind depending on the conversation.
    The one drop rule is not in effect. Most mixed kids I’ve talked to say that all jokes aside the minority race or darker hued race that they are apart of is normally more accepting.

  38. A.J.H.

    Hi, I come from a white mother, and my father is mostly black, with some irish/scottish/german/blackfoot/cherokee mixed in, but he appears to be full black. I myself have white skin with SLIGHT golden undertones, but only when exposed to sunlight (which I stay out of), freckles, dark brown eyes, & black hair that’s way more course/kinky/curly than most mixed folks, but ever so slightly less than most black folks (I still have to use the mega relaxer, my hair grows up and out, and dries within 5 mins of washing). Now that I’ve described myself, I identify as “multiracial”, I prefer to recognize all the races that I came from, especially given what I look like, and based on the fact that I’ve been raised around mostly white people. I think that’s something that hasn’t yet been touched on on this page. When alot of mixed people (black/white) are raised around their black side, or are around alot of black people growing up, they tend to identify as black. I joke that even though I have friends of all races, based on who I was raised around, I’m “socially white” -lol. Most people aren’t sure what race I am, but I’m quick to name the 10 countries / ethnicities I spang from!!! Let me know if you guys have noticed this, or are like this too, as far as identifying with who you’re raised around. I’m curious. :D

  39. Ms. November

    Being BLACK is a consciousness. It doesn’t matter what your skin color is, it matters what your frame of reference is.

    I am a tall chocolate colored woman with lovely kinky hair whose great grandmother is Apache. My daughter’s father is an Afro-Latino from Puerto Rico. Aren’t we mixed? Yes, we are. Even though, we proudly represent being black because we love the contributions black people have made to this country and are proud to have a history aligned with Africa. There is nothing to be ashamed of.

    Alicia Keys, light skin with long straight hair, has rocked corn-rows, because she wants to express her love of self and identify as being a black woman. Yes, her mother is white, yet she loves being black.

    Halle Berry has said in an interview, that her WHITE mother, told her when she was little, I am white, you are a little black girl and you are beautiful. Halle has never fooled her self to believe she is a white woman, she isn’t.

    What concerns me the most about many of the posts I’ve read is the assumption that if you are “mixed” you are automatically beautiful. Boy have I seen some crazy black/asian mixes and some strange white/asian mixed and quite a few unattractive (to me) white/black mixes. Having white in you doesn’t make you any more beautiful. It simply makes you human.

    It is 2011 and so many of us (people) have a truly sad and distorted view of what constitutes beauty. Yes, love yourself and big up your beauty, but please stop telling us all that your beauty is better than my beauty. Can’t we appreciate the beauty in our subtle differences.

    And in regards to the Doll Test, the black children were heavily influenced by what society told them was beautiful, it wasn’t simply their parents fault. Don’t just blame the parents. You don’t want us to blame you when your children grow up to be self-hating mixed adults only loving the white in them and confused as to why they can’t stand any evidence of blackness….it wouldn’t be your fault or would it?

  40. Ms. November

    …AND STOP REFERRING TO HAIR AS “GOOD HAIR”. Why is it good? Does it scratch your scalp for you? Tells you it loves you? Takes out the trash? WTF?!

    Hair is only good if it is healthy. It doesn’t matter if it is long, short, straight, wavy, or kinky.

    The bell is ringing. Can you hear it? WAKE UP!!

  41. A.J.H.

    “Having white in you doesn’t make you any more beautiful. It simply makes you human.” -true, I agree 100%!!!

    “Halle Berry has said in an interview, that her WHITE mother, told her when she was little, I am white, you are a little black girl and you are beautiful.” – Her mother should’ve acknowledged BOTH sides of the family. I know american black people have had a very hard time, and those of us with black ancestry are of proud to be a part of such a sad, rich, and triumphant history, but this doesn’t mean we should shut-out the other parts of ourselves.
    If you identify with one thing more than another that’s fine, but be proud of your entire cultural backround!!! i think it’s GREAT to have cultural pride, i love hearing about mine and my friend’s family backrounds!!! i just hate that there’s a double standard if you’re mixed (black/white), people want you to disown your white side completely, and “fool” yourself that you’re only black. if we were to do the reverse, disown our black side and “fool” ourselves into thinking we’re full white, people would be knocking at our doors with pitchforks ready to attack!!! the one-drop rule died with slavery!!! let’s love ALL parts of ourselves, and the various countries or one country our families came from, and if someone wants to acknowledge themselves as only one part of their ethnic backround, whether it be black, white, asian, latino, etc., let’s not look down on them, but respect them for their decision, as they’re making a choice that should be accepted and respected, the same as those who identify as being full black, which is widely accepted even if the individual is not. :D

  42. Birdie Jackson

    Assholes: It’s okay to be Black, you don’t have try so hard to be white and worry so much about having “good hair” (which means basically you can never grow beautiful locks) or about the “one drop rule.” Black American culture is so rich that people world wide admire it and our history. You are confused and full of self hatred. It’s truly embarassing.

  43. I THINK EVERYONE IS MIXED AND THAT IS WAY WE STARTED OUR SITE: http://WWW.MIXXDGENERATION.COM …SO VISIT OUR SITE AND LET US KNOW WHAT YOU THINK…AND WHY YOUR THERE ORDER SOMETHING AND PASS THE WORD…LOL

  44. this is the dumbest shit i ever read get a fucking life hey i know go find out what color tommy lees shit is hes not anything imporent either




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

