Pale Like Me (Rebecca walker)

By Chance Kelsey, chancellorfiles.com

Chance: Rebecca Walker Is the daughter of Alice walker, Alice walker is the author of the book the color purple.

In 1965,Alice Walker met Mel Leventha, a Jewish civil rights lawyer. They married in March 1967 and became the first legally married inter-racial couple in Mississippi.. This brought them a steady stream of harassment and even murderous threats from the Ku Klux Klan. The couple had a daughter, Rebecca in 1967, divorcing 9 years later. Alice and Mel divorced in 1976, and Rebecca lived with her father after the divorce. Rebecca is biracial she wrote about how her mother felt regarding Rebecca’s skin tone being very white looking. Rebecca knew that her mother Alice felt that by Rebecca having very white looking skin it would bring Rebecca special treatment.

She would be treated like a white person in American society. At the same time Rebecca knew that her mother felt a little sad, because her mother Alice had caramel brown skin, and is viewed as black by white Americans. Alice does not have the advantage of having white looking skin like her daughter Rebecca, thus the mother experiences more racism at the hands of white Americans and other non whites. Rebecca Walker often wondered does her better treatment in America come at the expense of her mother and black people? She wondered and pondered about how her mother Alice felt when she saw how kind white Americans treated Rebecca — but viewed Alice as a black person, and would not treat her equally as her white looking daughter Rebecca.

For a black mother to look at her bi racial white skin tone looking daughter, and see her treated better by whites, blacks, and non whites but yet, these same people would have the nerve to view the mother black as lower because she is black has to be painful for the mother. Rebecca Walker wrote about this experience between her mother and her in an essay written for essence magazine, the title is called Pale as I am (essence, June 1, 2002).

Many black women who have children with white men experience the same thing I feel. Often these black mothers don’t put the ODR (one drop blood rule) on their bi racial children. They call their bi racial children mixed, and not just black. Hopefully mixed race people will help eliminate the black and white racial conflict in America as we progress towards the future.

Pale As I Am

By Rebecca Walker

Essence, June 1, 2002

I am driving my pale, war- and winter-weary body down to my favorite strip of Mexican coastline. The huge boulders perched perilously above the waves are stunning, the hot yellow ball of the sun is blinding and the coconut-filled palm trees are swaying. I am taking it all in, but really I am trying to remember if I put on sunblock before leaving the house. And did I put on enough to keep me from getting cancer but not so much that I won’t still get the deep brown color I desperately want–no, need–to feel beautiful and whole?

I have always wanted to be darker, and baring my honey-colored body to the sun has been my only option. I have yet to find, on drugstore shelves next to the Porcelana and the new ointments brimming with lightening hydroquinone, the right beauty product for me. If there were such a product, Meladore or Night or some other absurdly named potion, I would buy it in bulk. In lieu of this, I have slathered on olive oil, coconut oil and avocado oil and offered myself up again and again to Mother Sun, frying my poor epidermis and dreaming of the lush, sensual brown skin of Tahitian women, the elegant ebony of African women, the fiery, earth-toned intensity of Maori women.

Inside, I know that I am one of those women, the ones who rule with a glance, traverse centuries with a song and have recipes that feed the world written in their DNA. Outside though, when I stand next to one of my favorite women friends, an absolute goddess who is as brown as mahogany, I feel like the chunky, awkward poor cousin just visiting from Siberia. When she turns to look at me, I feel a kind of shame alongside my deep affection. I am conscious that the color of my skin carries privilege that may wound, a lightness that can betray.

When I was in college, at 18 or 19, my beautiful cherry-brown mother told me that she always knew people would treat me better than they treated her because my skin was lighter. While she was simply stating a fact, her words pierced my soul. This was a thought that haunted and horrified me, because it implicated me in the horror of racism, of White-skin privilege. Even though I was not White, I carried on my skin the same power to hurt by being the one chosen over another, the one better regarded. In my case, this meant being on the ladder of race and power one rung above my mother–the woman who gave me life and whom I adore, the woman I would always want to be served before me, the woman I would always want to get the very best treatment.

My mother’s statement confirmed something I had always felt growing up. Not so much that people treated me differently from how they treated her, but that she thought they might and that this complicated her feelings about me. Did she resent me for my privilege? Was there a part of her that could not love or accept me because she knew exactly at whose expense my privilege came? Was there a part of her that was horrified to have a daughter who was marked to participate in the culture in this way? My nagging fear was that my mother would have loved me more if I were darker, if this choosing I did not ask for, this privilege beyond my control, were not a part of our daily lives.

This is a fear it has taken me years to finally abandon. After much struggle, I now know definitively that my mother loves me just as I am. But those years when I wasn’t so sure remind me of all that we collectively sacrifice to the race and color wars. I also now hold the consciousness that sometimes I will be treated better than people I love because of the lightness of my skin, but this makes the person doing the privileging the perpetrator of pain, not me. This understanding both soothes and propels me. Because of it, I am even more vigilant in my insistence that all people be treated equally, and that beauty comes in every shade, including my own.

Even though I have yet to give up my love affair with the sun and the deep glow she gives me, I am learning to love what a good friend calls my multilayered fine self. These days I pin up pictures of striking light-skinned sisters, starting with my fierce cafe au lait grandmother, who stares back at me from the wall, daring me to doubt her stunning beauty. I cherish an image of a twentysomething Lena Horne, her hair pulled back in the early morning light. I keep adding to the collection. I know that one day soon I will feel completely at home in my natural unsunned state. Until then, well, pass the coconut oil!

Rebecca walker.com

Rebecca Walker, the author of Black, White, and Jewish: Autobiography of a Shifting Self (Riverhead).

 

 

 


  1. The Chef

    Cheers for posting this Chance. I look forward to reading The Black Woman’s response as well as their response to Halle’s pregnancy. There’s gonna be another Civil War over Halle’s baby…WATCH!

  2. Chance

    @ Chef,

    Thanks Chef,a comenter named Kahlil mentioned this rebecca Walker article, I read it and found it so interesting. Yeah Halle Berry’s bi racial baby is going to create a type of stir, because some blacks will ask how come she did not have a baby with Wesley Snipes, David Justice, Michael Ealy? Halle Berry deserves to have a healthy baby she has wanted to be a mother for a long time she said. She had a baby with the man she was suppose too based upon destiny.

  3. Elle

    It’s funny because if I made the types of statements Rebecca made (like wishing I could buy skin bleaching cream in bulk) I would have militant black women ambush me, accusing me of self-hatred. This is another privelege of being lighter: you can self-criticize or admire darker skin. If you’re brown you can’t say “oh I’m too dark” or “she’s nice and light” without a brown or dark black woman getting defensive.

    I think children are SUPPOSED to live better lives than the parents. I will be wealthy whereas my mom is not. This is what parents normally hope for: a better tomorrow for the next generation. To Rebecca’s mom (and me) that is represented by being lighter. No big deal to me. If you love yourself you won’t be jealous of your own children.

  4. The Chef

    “Right on, Sista Grrrl!!!”

    Mulato Vocab Lesson #1:
    it’s not “Gurl”, it’s “Grrrl”!!!

  5. Chance

    @ Elle,

    Elle said: I think children are SUPPOSED to live better lives than the parents. I will be wealthy whereas my mom is not. This is what parents normally hope for: a better tomorrow for the next generation. To Rebecca’s mom (and me) that is represented by being lighter. No big deal to me. If you love yourself you won’t be jealous of your own children.

    My response: Good point Elle, that is so true, and like it is said parents often want their children to live better lives than them.

  6. Denise

    AT LEAST SHE IS MORE INTELLIGENT THAN KEKE WYATT. WYATT, MADE SOME IGNORANT STATEMENTS ABOUT HER MULTI-ETHNIC BACKGROUND AND BLACK PEOPLE.

    HERE IS THE INTERVIEW:
    Essence.com: Wow. So she didn�t want you to watch Roots, but she referred to you and your brother with the N-word? Do you think it�s time for her to stop using it?

    K.W.: People should feel free to say what they want to say as long as they don�t use it to hurt other people. I don�t think �n—a� is a bad word. I don�t think it�s directed toward people of color. Now, the word �n—er,� if you call me that, I will kick your a– because now you�re trying to be nasty and hurt my feelings. It depends on how you�re using it.

    Essence.com: But do you really think there’s enough of a distinction between the two to make exceptions?

    K.W.: Yes, because back in the day they were saying it with the “er�” on the end. I think it�s just like saying Negro, because the word in the dictionary it means “ignorant person.”

    Essence.com: Yes, and many people still believe that “ignorant people” equals “Black people.”

    K.W.: At the end of the day, you’re the one who is ignorant. I don’t think people should use the word so much. I hate how everyone thinks that Black people are beneath them, even Asians, Whites and …Mexicans. No, I’m not all Black, but I definitely stand up for the Black people. They’ve had it rough, they can’t help the fact that they’re skin is dark, or that their nose is a lil’ wider or that the curls in their hair might be tighter. I don�t think that it�s fair for people who look like me—the light skin, pointy nose and pretty hair—to think that dark-complected people are any less than them. Who am I? I’m not better than you. I breathe the same air and I bleed the same blood. Nobody is better than anybody else. We are all in this struggle called life. I think brown skin is beautiful because people like me have to lay out in the sun to try and look like you. My best friends are Black – I mean, Black-Black – and I think thats so beautiful. I think that’s why I decided to make my children Black…I could have married a White dude and my kids probably would have looked completely White. That�s not what I wanted. Now, they can go outside and get a for-real tan (laughs). I think Black is beautiful. I stand for the African-American people until the day I die.

  7. The Chef

    @ Denise:

    yeah?…and?…

  8. The Chef

    see, that’s the thing; mulatos need to stay away from Black identity.

  9. The Chef

    @denise:

    there’s no space for ignorant people here-this is a RESEARCH-based site;
    go research our mixed people b4 runnin’ your sapphire mouth.
    Keke’s statements are 100% valid…
    at least she ain’t frontin’!

  10. Chance

    I know some blacks found Keke’s statements offensive, but at the same time Keke was being very honest and truthful, and that is admirable. Keke is bi racial, blacks need to just let Keke be Keke she is a mixed race woman. Like I say Keke was honest.

  11. LaKair

    me being a brown skin black woman, i feel keke was tellin the truth , many darker skined blacks do feel inferior to lighter skined blacks and it all goes back to slavery. Blacks were taught to hated there color amoung other natural things about them selves. With slavery being abolished sooo long ago i feel most blacks have learned to love what white america once (and still) called, ugly or less attracvtive. I come from a family of many diffrent Skin tones from light bright almost white to dark as night. Never have i wished to be lighter or darker mainly because i got so much praise for whats beautiful about me from my family.

  12. Kahlil Le Chef

    I SECOND that LaKair!

  13. Elle

    Actually, the whole notion that lighter women look better than darker women has nothing to do with slavery. If it did, then lighter men would feel they are better looking than darker men, but sometimes lighter men are typecast as pretty boys. There is a pan-cultural preference for light skin in women that goes back to Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, Ancient Aztec civilization, and Medieval Japan, to name a few places. All of those societies preceded slavery and Western imperialism.

    http://www.vdare.com/sailer/050612_blondes.htm

    Also, I don’t understand what was wrong with what Keke said. Can someone explain?

  14. Denise

    Keke Said:
    They’ve had it rough, they can’t help the fact that they’re skin is dark, or that their nose is a lil’ wider or that the curls in their hair might be tighter. I don�t think that it�s fair for people who look like me—the light skin, pointy nose and pretty hair—to think that dark-complected people are any less than them.

    WHY I AM DISPLEASED WITH KEKE COMMENTS, HERE IS WHY:
    THIS BITCH IS FULL OF HERSELF.WHAT DO SHE MEAN BLACKS CANNOT HELP IT IF THEIR CURLS ARE TIGHTER AND NOT PRETTY LIKE HERS. I AM SO PISSED OFF RIGHT NOW.

    IF ANYONE WAS INTELLIGENT ENOUGH TO READ BETWEEN THE LINES, SHE WAS CONNECTING THE TEXTURE OF HAIR, THE WIDTH OF THE NOSE AND THE BRIGHTNESS OF THE SKIN WITH THE BLACK STRUGGLE. THERE IS MORE TO THE BLACK STRUGGLE THAN THAT.

    THIS IGNORANT GHETTO PIECE OF DIRT WAS MAKING SOME IGNORANT COMMENTS. SHE SAID THAT HER WHITE MOTHER CAN CORNROLL AS IF THAT WAS A TICKET IN THE BLACK COMMUNITY. HER WHITE MOTHER IS GHETTO AS HECK. CHECK OUT HER MOTHER’S MY SPACE PAGE, AND READ THE REST OF KEKE’S COMMENTS ON ESSENCE.COM.

    FOR THOSE WHO CALLED ME A SAPPHIRE: JUST BECAUSE I EXPRESSED ANGER AND DISBELIEF OF THE COMMENTS THAT THIS GIRL MADE, DOES NOT MEAN THAT I AM A SAPPHIRE.

    HONEST AND HONEST FROM THE A**, ARE TOO DIFFERENT THINGS. KEKE AND SOME OF YOU ON HERE ARE HONEST FROM THE A**, THAT IS WHAT SEPARATES INTELLIGENT PEOPLE FROM PEOPLE WHO JUST HAVE THEORIES FROM THEIR BACKSIDE.

    I AM TECHNICALLY A BIRACIAL PERSON, BUT I AM GOING TO TELL YOU LIKE I DID BEFORE,BLACKS ARE THE MOST HATED RACE ON THE PLANET, EVERY RACE HATES BLACKS, EVEN MULLATOS. YOU ALL ARE KILLING ME WITH THIS KILL THE ONE DROP RULE BULL, WHEN YOU KNOW GOOD AND WELL YOU ARE SEPARATING FROM BLACKS, BECAUSE YOU DO NOT WANT TO DEAL WITH THE STIGMAS THAT ARE ASSOCIATED WITH BEING BLACK.

    YOU ALL WANT TO CALL BLACKS COLOR STRUCK, WHEN MOST OF YOU ARE THE MOST COLOR STRUCK PEOPLE ON THE PLANET. AS A MIXED PERSON, I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT MIXED RACE PEOPLE WITH THE LIGHT EYES AND STRONG EUROPEAN FEATURES ARE FAVORED MORE THAN THE MELANIE “MEL B”.BROWN OR SAMANTHA MUMBA BIRACIAL TYPES.

    YES, I CALLED KEKE THE B-WORD BECAUSE HER WORDS ARE COMING FROM HER BUTT, AND YES A LOT OF BLACK PEOPLE WERE OFFENDED BY HER COMMENTS. POOR LIGHT SKINNED, PRETTY HAIRED, STRAIGHT NOSED KEKE. THE GIRL IS SO VAIN, AND ANYONE WHO DISAGREE, NEED TO RE-EVALUATE THEIR PURPOSE IN LIFE.

  15. Chance

    @ Denise,

    Please try not to write in all CAPS, thank you!!!!

    Denise said: i am technically a biracial person, but i am going to tell you like i did before,blacks are the most hated race on the planet, every race hates blacks, even mullatos. you all are killing me with this kill the one drop rule bull, when you know good and well you are separating from blacks, because you do not want to deal with the stigmas that are associated with being black.
    you all want to call blacks color struck, when most of you are the most color struck people on the planet. as a mixed person, i know for a fact that mixed race people with the light eyes and strong european features are favored more than the melanie “mel b”.brown or samantha mumba biracial types.

    My Response: The ODR (one drop rule) has to do with labeling mixed race people against their will black so that the whit race can be purified of the stain of black blood. And mixed race people can then be mistreated by whites and blacks. The mulattoes have a right to choose to be a separate endogamous group just like blacks and whites separate endogamous groups. Mixed race people have a right as Americans to choose to be a unique separately recognized group not allowing them is an infringement on their rights. Approximately 4 millions whites have black blood why don’t b;lacks go claim them? Because blacks are scared to attack whites with the ODR. Who would want to suffer racial discrimination and mistreatment in America because they are black or they are not black but have some visible black ancestry I wouldn ‘t. Since the mixed race people were not originally labeled black in the first place until the ODR came and made them phoney blacks why remain. The government no longer requires the ODR, the supreme court removed it in 1967. So why should people who are mixed race continue to follow it. The ODR is racism against the mixed race and black support it because they admire pretty looking mixed race people. Their is also a sexual attraction blacks have for mixed race people too, and blacks and whites view mixed race people as smarter because they have whit ancestry.

    If blacks are so happy being black then why are they so worried about mulattoes going back to their own category separate from blacks? The reasons are numerous, and one is they know that the mixed race (mulattoes) makes blacks look good, sexual attraction for light skin men and women, blacks feel mulattoes are better looking etc. Blacks feel oppressed and don’t want others to escape the oppression it is the crab in the bucket mentality.

    Let people live their lives and choose their own ethnic identification.

    Also, who wants to be labeled black so they can suffer racism and mistreatment at the hands of blacks , whites, and other ethnic groups. It is very intelligent for mixed raced people (mulattoes) who originally were never apart of the black race to try to escape that type of unprovoked racism, that blacks and whites show towards blacks and people who are mislabeled black. Even many blacks hate being black so why would the mulattoes continue wasting time being black when they can claim mixed race, which they genetically are.
    If people don’t want to be black because it carries a negative stigma — then those people are wise to consider options to avoid being mistreated by cops, blacks, whites, other racial group, employment discrimination, and social racism in general. Why are blacks so concerned about how mulattoes ethnically identify? Go live their lives and be happy but obviously they see some kind of superior loss if mulattoes leave back to their own category. Blacks have never had to stand on their own two feet by themselves in this country, they have had mulattoes with them contributing to the cultural, economical, educational, and intellectual development of this race. These contribution give mulattoes a right to have some major say so about what happens between blacks and mulattoes in the future. Mulattoes have put work in to help th black endogamous group.

    Yes, there is colorism among mixed race people and being labeled black makes it worse. I consider Mel B Brown and Samantha Mumba mulattas and mixed race. A mulatto or mulatta can come out looking like any skin complection. If you are bi racial Denise an have a black phenotype you still are biracial. In America one of reasons dark skin and certain caramel skin biracial get little attention is because they are under the ODR and labeled black this makes their mixed race ancestry of little value in the eyes of blacks and whites. The reason a light skin (yellowish skin) person gets more attention s because their white ancestry shows heavily in their phenotype (physical appearance). If there was a recognized separate category for mulattoes then dark skin and caramel skin biracial would get more attention because they labeled themselves biracial and will not be labeled black only.

    Denise said: yes, i called keke the b-word because her words are coming from her butt, and yes a lot of black people were offended by her comments. poor light skinned, pretty haired, straight nosed keke. the girl is so vain, and anyone who disagree, need to re-evaluate their purpose in life.


    My response:
    Well blacks need to stop claiming bi racial people like Keke, and then that would put a stop to them carrying on about what Keke say. But many black men and black women find Keke very pretty and attractive. Keke is a bi racial so blacks need to let her go and be what GOD made her in phenotype and genotype. Many black women who are not light as Keke are angry and jealous because Keke is a very pretty lady. If black is beautiful then many black women need to leave Keke alone, and go live their lives but I feel that they don’t like being black themselves, and secretively know that Keke is really not black. Keke is a mixed race woman. Is Keke pretty yes, light skin yes, pretty hair yes, and straight nose yes this is the result of her bi racial heritage GOD played a role in all of this. Denise you said Keke’ mother is ghetto, now ghetto is a state of mind, but in phenotype she is a white woman. Now there are some black women who marry white men and try to act white to fit in white the white culture so it is all good.

  16. Elle

    THIS BITCH IS FULL OF HERSELF
    How would you like it if someone said “this nigger is full of herself”?

    WHAT DO SHE MEAN BLACKS CANNOT HELP IT IF THEIR CURLS ARE TIGHTER AND NOT PRETTY LIKE HERS.
    Well 1) her hair is pretty (not very pretty but pretty) 2) blacks can not help having kinky hair, so what’s up?

    SHE SAID THAT HER WHITE MOTHER CAN CORNROLL AS IF THAT WAS A TICKET IN THE BLACK COMMUNITY.
    (Cornrow)Her white mother doesn’t need a pass to call blacks niggas or niggers, just like you don’t need a pass to call Keke a bitch right?

    BLACKS ARE THE MOST HATED RACE ON THE PLANET
    Playing victim will solve nothing. Jews are arguably the most hated people on the planet. Same with gays. Same with women. What’s the point of saying that, to feel like a righteous underdog?

    YOU KNOW GOOD AND WELL YOU ARE SEPARATING FROM BLACKS, BECAUSE YOU DO NOT WANT TO DEAL WITH THE STIGMAS THAT ARE ASSOCIATED WITH BEING BLACK
    What’s wrong with wanting to escape the stigmas? Misery loves company. It’s not like they’re saying they want the right to mistreat blacks.

    YES A LOT OF BLACK PEOPLE WERE OFFENDED BY HER COMMENTS
    1) Black people are easily offended 2) Whenever blacks are offended, the world has to feel their wrath, even if it means being sexist

    POOR LIGHT SKINNED, PRETTY HAIRED, STRAIGHT NOSED KEKE. THE GIRL IS SO VAIN
    I detect a hint of jealousy. She said she doesn’t feel people should look down on dark people. She said she deliberately made her own children black! She said she thinks black is beautiful. What more do people want to stroke their egos?

  17. Denise

    @Chance: There is no way to escape stigma, but there is a way to escape stereotypes. Many mixed race individuals, identify with black because they know that when a racial conflict arises blacks will be there to support them. As long as there is a struggle for the equality of black people in this country, mixed race persons of African lineage will experience the same inequality. I agree that black people are very colorstruck, especially down south, because of slavery and the “Brown Paper Bag Test” syndrome.

    I agree that some black women do act white when they date white men, and yes it is usually the dark skinned black women who do that, because the lighter skinned ones feel that they are already close to European, so they feel they do not have to act white. Mixed race people who hang around blacks and date blacks act “black” and mixed race people who hang around whites, act “white” and date whites, and not to mention that annoying valley girl accent.

    Most successful black men pass up beautiful dark skinned successful, college educated sistas, for average looking light skinned women with 9th grade educations, because they are light skinned. Yes, in the black community especially down south “redbones” or “yellowbones” are like the cream of the crop. light skinned women are view as trophy wives by most black men. The only problem I have Chance is when people pour salt on the wounds. There are some people on here who probably agree that light skinned women should remain “trophies” while dark skin sisters remain someone that a brother dated in college, or someone who has to date white men to be appreciated. Mixed race women, rather we are called, yellow, redbone, light skinned whatever are still going to be considered as “trophies” to most black men. Do you think that is right chance.

    @Elle
    I called keke the B-word, out of anger. It is an offensive word just like the n-word, but my views about Keke’s comments are still the same.

  18. Denise

    @ The Chef: I am ignorant, so shall you think it, so shall you be it. See, I actually have viewpoints and theories. Unlike some individuals, I do not have to throw insults all over the place. But you know what people say, opinions are like *******s everybody’s got one. This is a site targeted to mixed raced individuals, I am mixed race, and not all of us have the same viewpoints, in particular the ODR theory. There are people on here on went as far as accusing me of jealousy, how superficial is that.

  19. Chance

    @ DN comment 18,

    DN said: @Chance: There is no way to escape stigma, but there is a way to escape stereotypes. Many mixed race individuals, identify with black because they know that when a racial conflict arises blacks will be there to support them. As long as there is a struggle for the equality of black people in this country, mixed race persons of African lineage will experience the same inequality. I agree that black people are very colorstruck, especially down south, because of slavery and the “Brown Paper Bag Test” syndrome.

    My response: Yes on average for my life time there is no way to escape the ODR permanently because both white and blacks of my generation have grown up with it. But in isolate situations one can escape the ODR in my life time but only in certain situations. The reason I fight against the ODR is so that future generations of people who have some black ancestry but are mixed (MGM, SGM, or FGM) with white or other ethnic ancestries will not have to suffer like me and other mulattoes who are under the ODR. I do it for them. There are caramel skin and dark skin bi racials, and caramel and dark skin mixed people who I see suffer under th ODR. By me fighting against the ODR in the future these people with these types of skin tones will be free to identify as mixed race with out being forced to labeled themselves black if they don’t want to. If they choose then that is swell and good but let them choose.

    Stereotypes are not always bad, if something has been observed long enough over and over again then a stereotype is not bad. Stereotypes are only bad if they are found to be false. Following certain stereotypes have been proven to save people a lot of suffering. Yes we must continue to fight against injustice and inequality that both blacks and mixed race people experience, but the reason mixed race people (mulattoes) experience injustice and inequality is because they labeled black because of the ODR, so the ODR must be fought against also because it supports injustice and racism against mixed race people.

    Many mulattoes identify black because they have been told and raised black had the ODR not been put into effect this would not have happened.

    DN said: Most successful black men pass up beautiful dark skinned successful, college educated sistas, for average looking light skinned women with 9th grade educations, because they are light skinned. Yes, in the black community especially down south “redbones” or “yellowbones” are like the cream of the crop. light skinned women are view as trophy wives by most black men. The only problem I have Chance is when people pour salt on the wounds. There are some people on here who probably agree that light skinned women should remain “trophies” while dark skin sisters remain someone that a brother dated in college, or someone who has to date white men to be appreciated. Mixed race women, rather we are called, yellow, redbone, light skinned whatever are still going to be considered as “trophies” to most black men. Do you think that is right chance.

    My response: It is true, that many light skin women are chosen because they are light skin even when they are less intelligent than some dark skin black women. He mixed race women are under the ODR against their wills mainly too. Mixed women have a lot of white in them and many black men, and black women find this attractive so it is natural to choose a mixed race woman or mixed race man. They have Europe and Africa in them. These women who are mixed are considered trophie wives but that is not their fault, it is black men who view them as better looking because they are mixed.

    Black men also view the white women as trophie wives and beautiful. Many dark skin black women view light skin men as trophies too. All of this colorism is the result of the ODR, which needs to be removed. It is not right that black men view mixed race women trophies either.

  20. Chance

    @ DN comment 18,

    DN said: The only problem I have Chance is when people pour salt on the wounds. There are some people on here who probably agree that light skinned women should remain “trophies” while dark skin sisters remain someone that a brother dated in college, or someone who has to date white men to be appreciated.

    I agree that people pour salt on wounds and I don’t like it either. At the same time we must remind ourselves about how this wound came about. The wound came about due to the ODR that sent the mixed race (mulattoes) into the black race. Mixed race people are more of victims than blacks are because of this. At the same time pouring salt on wounds is not good. In future generations it will be deferent because of all of the interracial marriages and mixing the ODR will come to an end.
    It is alo true just because one shows some anger it does not make one a sapphire, I do agree. Anger can be understood in certain situations.

    http://chancellorfiles.com/blog1/2007/01/03/sapphire-character/

  21. Elle

    while dark skin sisters remain someone that a brother dated in college, or someone who has to date white men to be appreciated

    what’s wrong with dating a white man? if you prefer to only date black men, you are just reaffirming in society’s mind that some races of people are more datable than others. also black men will appreciate you more if they see that you aren’t waiting around for them to call or feeling bitter/complaining.

  22. Elle

    All of this colorism is the result of the ODR, which needs to be removed. It is not right that black men view mixed race women trophies either.

    I doubt it. There is colorism in Brazil even though there is no ODR. Even if light blacks are considered mulatto, people will just seek the same light blacks, the only difference will be that they’re now called mulattos. I don’t see colorism going away unless everyone mixes to the point where everyone looks the same. I don’t think colorism is too terrible of a problem. 🙂

  23. Chance

    @ Comment 23,

    I doubt it. There is colorism in Brazil even though there is no ODR. Even if light blacks are considered mulatto, people will just seek the same light blacks, the only difference will be that they’re now called mulattos. I don’t see colorism going away unless everyone mixes to the point where everyone looks the same. I don’t think colorism is too terrible of a problem. 🙂

    I am talking about here in the America the ODR helpd create this color problem, and yes colorism exist in other countries that don’t have an ODR.

  24. KC

    Rebecca Walker’s a genius.

    She knows how to make Colourism SEXY
    [in a tastefully kinky sort of way]!!!

    We should take HER approach instead of Black folks’ approach (i.e., Denise & Chance)& White folks approach (i.e., Elle)!

    Y’all should STOP using Niggers & Honkeys as your Source Codes!:
    Being Mulatto (or “Wanna-Be Mulatto” like Elle) is a GRAND opportunity to FREELY & perpetually create & re-create self-/other-identity
    [i.e., Rebecca Walker’s “Shifting Self”]
    ‘cuz we don’t have to answer to NOBODY!!!

    Chance likes to play BOTH sides of the fence, hence making life MORE complicated for himself AND his readers.
    [Chance, I recommend following The Haitian Mulato Approach! (i.e., FUCK Blacks AND Whites)!
    Chance, pour your energies into Creative Mulato Processes [CMP’s]!

  25. Elle

    I’m not white nor am I a wanna-be mulatto. Period.

  26. Denise

    @KC
    You say F- blacks and whites, you are saying F both sides of yourself. Black and white equal grey so you are saying F grey people, which are mullatos and that is what you consider yourself to be. Chance is not trying to teach hate, he is thinking outside of the box, exposing issues from different angles. You sound like a sociopath, and I suggest that you seek some help, or free yourself from the internet into the real world and meet some more people. I think that you are making these statements for shock factor only, I truly hope so.

  27. Chance

    KC, I am a mulatto, so I engage in both sides of the fence (world whites and blacks) because I am mixed race. Yet, even though I engage in both sides of the fence, I still have my personal identity as mulatto (mixed race). Courtyard mulatto, I hang out in the house and the fields but my primary dwelling place is in the courtyard (patio mulatto). Europe, Africa, and Native American of the United states have called me forth into incarnation, I reincarnated as a mixed race man (mulatto). At the same time I accept the fact that I descended from these mononracial groups. So I a right to speak about them and interact with them if I chose too. Mulattoes and I have a right to use sources codes that come from whites, blacks, and other ethnicities we are mixed with because we are mixed with their blood lines. Also, there are somethings that mulattoes contributed to the blacks and whites.

    Certain Haitian mulattoes also played both sides of the fence,some Haitian mulattoes at times helped whites oppress blacks, and there were certain Haitian mulattoes who helped black Haitians fight against whites. It all depended on the situation. In the end the black Haitians killed and slaughtered off the majority of whites and mulattoes, and this is why Haiti has so few mulattoes and white people who are the original descendants of the whites and mulattoes of 150 to 200 years ago.

  28. AP

    Chance wrote:

    ”Mixed race people have a right
    as Americans to choose to be a
    unique separately recognized group
    ..The government no longer
    requires the ODR, the supreme
    court removed it in 1967.
    So why should people who are
    mixed race continue to follow it.
    If blacks are so happy being black then
    why are they so worried about mulattoes
    going back to their own category?…
    Let people live their lives and
    choose their own…identification.
    Also, who wants to be labeled
    black so they can suffer
    racism and mistreatment…
    It is very intelligent for mixed raced people …who originally were never apart
    of the black race to try to escape that
    type of unprovoked racism, that blacks
    and whites show towards blacks and
    people who are mislabeled black.
    Even many blacks hate being black
    so why would the mulattoes continue
    wasting time being black when
    they can claim mixed race,
    which they genetically are.
    If people don’t want to be black
    because it carries a negative stigma
    then those people are wise to consider
    options to avoid being mistreated.”

    AND

    Ell wrote:

    What’s wrong with wanting
    to escape the stigmas?
    Misery loves company.
    It’s not like they’re saying they
    want the right to mistreat blacks….
    1) Black people are easily offended
    2) Whenever blacks are offended,
    the world has to feel their wrath…
    I detect a hint of jealousy…
    What more do people want
    to stroke their egos?”

    AP’s response:

    You are both so very right
    about what you have said!!

    In fact, more people on this planet (and
    particularly in the United States of America)
    simply need to realize that the forcing of
    mixed-race people into the same category
    of that of full-black people (via the ever
    racist ‘one-drop rule’) is simply a subtle
    ‘divisionist-strategy’ that was invented
    by White-supremacists who — in the
    same vein as they did with Amerindian
    and African tribes (who had little to
    nothing in common, including language,
    culture, tradition, etc., in their cases)
    —- utilized this forced-mixing (no
    pun intended) of different groups for
    the simple purpose of having continual
    conflict between the group in order to
    deflect attention from the true oppressors.

    Just like – by forcing the African and
    Amerindian tribes (many of whom had almost
    nothing in common) together caused enough
    inter-tribal conflict to allow the White
    racial-supremacists to take over all of
    the groups simultaneously – by forcibly
    and falsely categorizing mixed-race people
    as being people who are the exact same as
    full-black (via the racist ‘one-drop rule)
    White-supremacists are able to conquer
    every group via ‘the resulting impact’.

    Just as ‘the resulting impact’ among people
    of various tribes who were being forced
    together — was inter-tribal conflict
    (and other divisions which would otherwise
    have not occurred) which led to the White
    racial-supremacist conquering them all.

    In that same course, ‘the resulting impact’ of
    the ever racist one-drop rule’ having falsely
    forced mixed-race people into the full-black
    category — is often that of unfair demands
    and open hostilities being made against
    mixed-race people, by certain of the
    full-black people whose hostilities and
    contempt reveal a level of jealousy and
    envy in regards to another person’s
    lineage (and even their resulting
    features and / or cultural-upbringing)
    — treating mixed-race bloodlines as
    if it were some type of ‘genetic gold’
    (as one commentator once expressed
    this mentality) which they have
    discovered and have a right to
    claim as their own exclusive
    property to profit from as
    they wish — all the while
    having precious little use or
    remote care for the actual
    mixed-race person themself.

    This contemptuous hostility expressed
    against mixed-race people and the
    resulting and continual pressure
    placed on them to concede to being
    falsely-categorized and into denying
    their full-lineage (with this being
    particulary true when the mixed-race
    person is of a multi-generational
    multiracially-mixed / mgm-mixed
    lineage) includes having full-black
    people being taught to both attain
    and openly express an unprovoked and
    baseless-rage against the people who
    are mixed-race for the mere “crime”
    of having a desire for a God-given
    right to both self-definition
    and self-categorization,

    So many full-black people do not even
    seem to realize that their contemptuous
    hostility against a mixed-race person
    for the mere “crime” of wanting to
    publicly acknowledge and embrace their
    full-lineage (and resulting experiences)
    is noting more than a slave-mentality
    created by the very same White
    racial-supremacist who they
    so often claim they do not
    want to be any part of.

    It is interesting to note that the White
    racial-supremacists created the racist
    ’one-drop rule’ BOTH in order to make
    people falsely perceive that the Black
    bloodlines found in a mixed-race person’s
    lineage was somehow or another “tainted”
    AND in order to get full-black people to,
    in a false belief that they are expressing
    so-called “race pride” willingly and naively
    practice an obvious “crabs-in-a-barrel”
    mentality wherein, if they are not able
    to become non-black, they have to try to
    forcibly make every non-black person find
    themselves categorized as being full-black.

    It’s called ‘a slave mentality’
    — people – and society needs to
    rid itself of it if any peace and
    genuine “race pride” is to ever exist.

    The links below may provide a clearer
    understanding of what is being stated:

    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AjwuxYj8agKY7yGgqaJ7i.Xty6IX?qid=20070704121228AA7ZMsA&show=7#profile-info-ezQwEaJLaa
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Generation-Mixed/message/1527
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Generation-Mixed/message/3357

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Generation-Mixed/message/1572
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Generation-Mixed/message/2240

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Generation-Mixed/message/3331
    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=Al5eeK2CFwcv4rD5U5qzvEfty6IX?qid=20070527201834AAIhzhM&show=7#profile-info-CiC2JY9Maa
    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AiebDu.tSshJzQ0wS5fMp7jty6IX?qid=20070623205206AANUzPN&show=7#profile-info-q1hdwifgaa

    Denise wrote:

    Many mixed race individuals, identify
    with black because they know that when
    a racial conflict arises blacks will
    be there to support them … I agree
    that black people are very colorstruck,

    Chance wrote:

    ”Blacks have never had to stand on their
    own two feet by themselves in this country, they have
    had mulattoes with them contributing to
    the cultural, economical, educational, and intellectual development of this race.
    These contribution give mulattoes
    a right to have some major say so
    about what happens between blacks
    and mulattoes in the future.
    Mulattoes have put work in to
    help th black endogamous group.“

    AP’s response:

    History proves you to be
    correct on this Chance.

    In fact, a study of the history of the United
    States shows that not only were mixed-race
    people the majority of the vast leaders of
    the Civil Rights movement from the very
    beginning (including those mixed-race people,
    such as Walter White, Diane Nash, Douglas
    Wilder, Adam Clayton Powell, Lena Horne, etc.
    — who cold have easily allowed themselves to
    be seen as “White”, “Latino”, etc) —but even
    during the Antebellum chattel-slavery period
    — it was largely the mixed-race slaves and
    ex-slaves (with the exception of certain brave
    full-black people like Harriet Tubman) who
    regularly risked their lives to help other
    slaves (both black and mixed-race) escape
    the plantations and make it into the
    northern portion of the United States
    (and even on into Canada once the
    Fugitive Slave Act was put into place.)

    Contrary to popular myth spread among many
    full-black people (and is even bought into by
    certain mixed-race people) – it was not the
    mixed-race people who created a sense of
    contempt between themselves and full-black
    people – but rather it was largely full-black
    people who (having held onto a dreadful
    ‘crabs-in-a-barrel’ mentality taught to them
    by the plantation ‘owners’ and ‘overseers’)
    chose to express both ‘jealousy-based hostile,
    contempt’ for and ‘a demand to lay full-claim’
    to the people who are of mixed-race lineage.

    Related Links:

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Generation-Mixed/message/1290
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Generation-Mixed/message/1999

  29. oneworld

    “…The wound came about due to the ODR that sent the mixed race (mulattoes) into the black race…”

    I don’t understand; how can you be sent into being what you already are? To deny one part of you is to deny all of yourself. The term mixed-race implies a combination of races. Thus, the desire for a multi-racial classification. I’m all for that.

    Drawing from what i’ve read most of you want to dissociate from the black race altogether to escape the stigmas, and some of you just think mixed-race is better. That’ll never happen, ODR has been effect way too long. The only way you’ll be able to escape ‘blackness’ is to pass. Actually, you’ll always be haunted by it-not embracing your true identity. You can only live in denial for so long. But if you don’t look white enough…well, sorry. Anyways, most of us look hispanic or some other minority. As it is, minorities, all of us, will always be second class in a majority white society.

    “…Mixed race people are more of victims than blacks are because of this.”

    If our mixed-race status confers us some societal advantages over mono-racial blacks, how are we victims? Excuse me, but, an identity crisis is hardly a reason to proclaim one’s self a victim. Especially, when you’re comparing the resulting mental and emotional stress to that experienced by mono-racial blacks experiencing this stuff on a regular basis.

    I have been made all too aware of the advantage of being a “fence straddler”. I have little to no problem networking with whites in many situations. However, my darker brown peers find it somewhat difficult. They claim not to be taken seriously, and some too seriously, resulting in being labeled “adversarial” or not “team-players”. While I sympathize with my darker brothers and sisters, I am also incredibly frustrated at being mistreated by people who accuse me of reaping the benefits of an “exotic” image.

    ”Blacks have never had to stand on their own two feet by themselves in this country, they have had mulattoes with them contributing to the cultural, economical, educational, and intellectual development of this race.”

    I’m not going to even bother mentioning the many contributions of mono-racial blacks to the establishment of the black race without the help of mulattoes. In exactly what ways are you saying that mulattoes have helped the black race? I can think of only a few. One must keep in mind that some of the most notable ones came about during a time when only the fairer skinned folks of African lineage were “allowed” to get educated, own property, procure a better existence for their offspring…etc.

  30. Janise

    Chance, your comments about black people were absolutely shocking. I had you down as a bigger, smarter person than that. That rubbish you spouted about biracial people helping black people stand on their feet is racist and offensive to the extreme.

    Clearly, you think you are somehow better than black folk because of your dual heritage. It is obvious that you’d really like to call yourself is white because of all of the social privilege that term holds.

    Chance, you are black AND you are white. You are both and yet you are neither. You cannot legitimately claim your own identity or racial group, because the sum of your parts is split. You, as a biracial man, cannot be regarded as belonging to a whole racial group and should never be regarded as such. The term mixed race says it all. You are neither here, nor there. GET OVER IT.

    In my opinion, many mixed race folks like yourself envy your white and black counterparts because we are secure in our racial identity. You, my friend, are not.

  31. Chance

    @ Janise
    I agreed with a lot of what you said except for the last part that said envy blacks and whites. That is definitely not true. I agree with what you said about being neither here nor there.

    I am universal.

  32. Janise

    @ Chance

    And I am universal, too, brother. I am a proud black woman, and from the black womb, all races came.

    On a more serious note, I like your spirt and fighting talk, Chance. And may I commend you on a great website. Keep up the good work.

  33. Chance

    Janise Wrote:
    Sunday, February 3, 2008 at 3:11 am –
    @ Chance

    And I am universal, too, brother. I am a proud black woman, and from the black womb, all races came.

    On a more serious note, I like your spirt and fighting talk, Chance. And may I commend you on a great website. Keep up the good work.

    My response: Thank you, very much and alot.

    If one believes in something you have to defend and fight for it sometimes. When you see that something needs to be done or said — sometimes you have to go into action yourself instead of waiting for others to do it.

    I try to do my part regarding what I believe in (a matter of principles).

  34. Odile

    It’s a good thing Chance is “gone”!




Leave a Reply

