Floyd Sneed And Chance

 

 

Floyd Sneed And Chance

 

By Chance Kelsey, chancellorfiles.com  

 

Chance: I remember back in 1993 in Hollywood, California I was sitting at the barber shop waiting to get my done and hair cut, and in walks a black man with a white T-shirt, white baseball cap, and blue shorts and his face was clean shaven. He sat in a chair right next too me. We began talking with each other, and he introduced himself. He said his name was Floyd Sneed. He also talked with other people in the shop too.

 

 

He was telling the owner of the barber shop (Nolan) that he had a show to do soon. When Floyd and I started talking again we talked about his Drumming career. He mentioned that he was a drummer and that he was the drummer for the group Three Dog Night back in the 1960s and 1970s. Floyd had a very friendly and youthful energy about him. His personality was easy going. A year earlier I had seen an television interview Chuck Negron the lead singer of Three Dogs Night. In the interview Chuck said that he ended up homeless and on drugs for a while.

 

So I decided to ask Floyd what it was like working with Chuck, Floyd said he liked it a lot. He said he enjoyed the years that he was with the group. Floyd said that did opening acts for other groups to. I asked Floyd does the music industry give out royalties to the former members of the group Three Dogs Night. He said yes.   

 

Floyd got his hair cut, and when he got ready to leave he gave me his card. We spoke some more, and he left. It was a pleasant encountered with music history.   

 

Floyd also has a brother named Bernie Sneed who is also a musician. Floyd Sneed is the uncle of actress Rae Dawn Chong, Rae’s mother and Floyd are brother and sister. Floyd is from Canada.

 

get my done and hair cut, and in walks a black man with a white T-shirt, white baseball cap, and blue

 

shorts and his face was clean shaven. He sat in a chair right next too me. We began talking with each other, and he introduced himself. He said his name was Floyd Sneed. He also talked with other people in the shop too.

 


  1. AP

    Wow !!!!

    Chance–you are soooo fortunate !!!

    THREE DOG NIGHT is GREAT !!!

    They are one of the best groups from the
    1970s and one of my favorite groups as well!!!

    Talk about talent!!!

    They could go from singing total
    ‘Rock’ (ex. Joy to the World) to
    ‘Mellow’ (ex. Out in the Country).

    Again–Chance–you are sooooo fortunate!!! 😀

  2. Chance

    All People, you are right I am lucky and fortunate!!! And, Floyd was so freindly.

  3. Teraye01

    That is very interesting Chance. I agree that you are very fortunate to have met a member of a rock band that many view as LEGENDARY. I don’t know too much about Three Dog Night, but I do know that I love the songs “One” and “Eli’s Coming”. As for Mr. Sneed, he sounds like a down to earth artist and I always thought his niece Rae Dawn Chong was beautiful. However, I have to admit now that I think his nephew Marcus Chong (he played Tank in the first Matrix movie) is HOT!!! 🙂

  4. Chance

    Teraye01,

    Yeah it was a great experience and I really enjoyed meeting Floyd.

    Thanks for coming by.




Leave a Reply

